Weight Loss Tip: Snack It, Track It

Discovered this tip on my weight loss journey. It’s a duh, slaps forehead for sure, but it’s still a great tip. 3 years ago when I was trying to lose the weight I gained due to a side effect of a medication I was on I used this same tip and found it did work. I saw that I tended to eat more at certain times and found I’d snack when I was hungry due to boredom or because people were gathering in the kitchen at work snacking and I’d join them just to get away from my desk… I wasn’t even hungry! Once I started writing down what I was eating and when I was able to cut back on my snacking and the pounds fell right off.

For one day, track your current habits by recording what you eat and drink. It doesn’t matter whether you put pen to paper–or use a tracking site or app.People who are the most successful at losing weight typically track what they consume.

On your day of discovery, track:

  • What. List ingredients separately when you know them. For example, if you’re eating pasta with sauteed vegetables, include the oil or butter used in the pan.
  • How much. Estimate in tablespoons or cups.
  • When. No need to track to the minute, but you’ll learn a lot by seeing the difference between what you choose for lunch at noon versus 2 p.m.

The point is not to shake a finger at yourself for your choices. Instead, discover and experiment. What if you ate a little bit less–would you feel just as satisfied? What if small adjustments in the times you eat make a huge difference in your energy level, hunger or weight?

Leave a Reply

