NEW RUG!!

Finally, finally John and I got a new rug for the living room. I’ve known which rug we were going to get for close to two months now, but we every weekend John and I have been so busy that we hadn’t had a chance to go get the rug. I know what some of you are thinking, why not just order it? Well, ordering larger pieces of furniture can be pricey, not just because of the shipping, but because of the added surcharge. And why pay for shipping and the surcharge when Pottery Barn is 10 minutes up the road? So here is my brand new Empire Scroll Rug from Pottery Barn. I LOVE it and I love how the blue brightens up the room as well. Below are two pictures I snapped of the new rug and a small part of our living room. Sorry for the poor lighting. we have these large windows and even with the curtains closed there was a glare.

IMG_3354 IMG_3355

You can’t see it, but behind the couch, pushed up against the back of the couch, are two end tables and a small book case. My new project is to find one piece of furniture to replace these three. I want a cabinet/bookcase combination. Currently the book case is serving as John’s music stand. The shelves are full of his records and record player. It’s a perfect place for his collection, but I hate that it’s three pieces of furniture when I know it can easily be one piece. I feel wasteful and cluttered with 3 pieces of furniture there. I’m thinking of something similar to this Printer’s Glass Cabinet or this Noche Media Storage. We are also keeping our eyes open for a new tv stand. Currently our tv sits on a coffee table, which is nice, but means the tv sits lower than we’d like it to. Plus I would like to get rid of some more furniture and a tv stand with storage would allow us to get rid of a piece of furniture we are hanging on to purely to store dvds and such. My parents have some truly amazing furniture (including a tv stand) my dad got at unfinished furniture stores and then finished himself. But all of those stores have since closed in Richmond, which makes me really sad. If anyone has any furniture places they enjoy shopping at, I’d love to get some recommendations.

Finally, I still have a hutch my sister-in-law gave us that I want to paint. I’m not sure what color to paint it. Based on the photos above if anyone has any suggestions or specific paint colors, please share! I’m at a loss as to what color to paint it.

Leave a Reply

