Pork and Music Festival

11118120_10100321610442272_8249882770730295337_nJohn and I have officially been in RVA for 3 weeks and we are loving it! Last weekend we went to the Pork and Music Festival with three of our friends. While I’m not a huge fan of pork, I pretty much only eat bacon, I wasn’t about to turn down some fun in the sun with friends.

The Pork and Music Festival was hosted by the ACCA Shriners and $25 got you All You Can Eat BBQ & Ribs with Baked Beans, Cole Slaw, Potato Salad, Tea, Lemonade, & Domestic Beer. There was also wine for $1 a glass and funnel cake for $2. Everything was delicious. Additionally, there was a really cool band that played a wide variety of music (the band even had a horn section). My favorite was when the band played some songs by Frankie Valli and The Four Seasons. Unfortunately I can’t remember the name of the band, but I do remember a member saying they have been a band since 1974!

One of the many great things about RVA is the many, many festivals that are put on all Spring and Summer. The Watermelon Festival is in August and I know the Strawberry Festival is coming up soon. I’m excited to say we will be busy for many weekends to come.

This weekend I’m attempting to finish the last of the unpacking (the few random things we still need to find places for), do some intense cleaning, laundry, maybe go rug shopping, and HOPEFULLY finish The Hangman’s Daughter by Oliver Potzsch, which is such a great book and I regret starting it when we were begining our move because I haven’t had time to sit and read it. Instead I’ve been reading for 20 minutes here and there when I can.

I hope everyone has a relaxing weekend and can either ignore or knock out those “To Do” lists.

P.S. below are a few pictures from the Pork and Music festival

Selfie with Mel and Beverly

Selfie with Mel and Beverly

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

