Pink + Dinner at Grey’s Tavern

Is anyone else having crazy weather? We’ve had a few days of warm sunshine in the mid 60s and then the next two days back down to freezing with sleet and rain. Now I am in no way a “spring” person, my allergies are too terrible to allow me to love spring, but I am ready for some warmer temperatures.  Bloggers aren’t helping too much either with all the Valentine’s Day and warmer weather outfit posts. Retail stores pre-spring lines are in and pastels are everywhere. For some reason I find myself being drawn to pink clothes. This is weird because pink hasn’t been my favorite color since I was in elementary school. It is also not a color I wear too often. Supposedly blonds look good in pink, but I have a hard time finding the right shade of pink that doesn’t look weird with my skin tone. Instead I stick with blues, mostly navy. So for whatever its worth, I am obsessed with these two dresses (Roxy and Cynthia Steffe) and this cozy looking BCBG sweater.
In what is perhaps more interesting news, John and I went to dinner this past weekend with our friends Alli and Will. The original place we wanted to eat had a 30-45 minute wait, which was weird because it was 6:30 on a Saturday and that place usually is packed closer to 8 on a Saturday evening.  So instead we went across the street to Grey’s Tavern.  I’m so glad we ate there. The food was delicious. We started with two appetizers, nachos and bacon cheese fries. I really didn’t think the food could be better or that I could eat another bite, but then dinner came out. I had burger sliders topped with tomato, cheese, mayo, mustard, pickles, bacon, and a fried egg! I wasn’t too sure about the whole fried egg thing on top, but ultimately it was the best decision.  Many years ago, when I was an undergrad, I went to France and discovered that in small towns pizza comes topped with a fried egg. Not as good as burgers topped with a fried egg, but it’s not terrible either.  The only complaint I have about Grey’s is the waitress. She acted as if everyone there was at her house uninvited and it was a HUGE inconvenience to serve any of her tables.  #workinghardforthemoney
If you are ever in Greensboro, NC I highly recommend checking out Grey’s Tavern. Their menu is pretty diverse so there is guaranteed to be something for everyone. And Happy Hump Day! We are half way there!!
Leave a Reply

