We Were Liars By E. Lockheart

I started reading We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Just the first few pages have me hooked. Here’s an excerpt. Try as you might, you are going to want to read this book.

 

That June, summer fifteen, Dad announced he was leaving and departed two days later. He told my mother he wasn’t a Sinclair, and couldn’t try to be one, any longer. He couldn’t smile, couldn’t lie, couldn’t be part of that beautiful family in those beautiful houses.

Couldn’t. Couldn’t. Wouldn’t.

He had hired moving vans already. He’d rented a house, too. My father put a last suitcase into the backseat of the Mercedes (he was leaving Mummy with only the Saab), and started the engine.

Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest. I was standing on the lawn and I fell. The bullet hole opened wide and my heart rolled out of my rib cage and down into a flower bed. Blood gushed rhythmically from my open wound, then from my eyes, my ears, my mouth. It tasted like salt and failure. The bright red shame of being unloved soaked the grass in front of our house, the bricks of the path, the steps to the porch. My heart spasmed among the peonies like a trout.

Mummy snapped. She said to get hold of myself.

Be normal, now, she said.Because you are. Because you can be. Don’t cause a scene, she told me. Breathe and sit up.I did what she asked.She was all I had left.Mummy and I tilted our square chins high as Dad drove down the hill.

Leave a Reply

